DIY FACE MASK FOR DRY SKIN

Good morning everyone!

I guess it really isn’t the morning anymore for most of you but on my Sunday’s, I like to stay in bed for as looooong as possible!

Lately, I have been very busy with midterms coming up and getting everything in order for spring break, showing my lack of blogs. This year, I am first going to The Great Smoky Mountains and staying in a log cabin for 3 nights with my boyfriend. Then we are heading down to South Carolina and staying in a beach house right outside of Charleston (my favorite place ever on Earth) with my family for 5 days! I cannot contain my excitement any longer for this long, overdue vacation time!

But that is not what I am talking about today, so let’s get to the point of this blog! If you are like me and have very sensitive, combination skin, then you probably know the struggles of weather changes and what it does to your delicate skin! Living in Indiana where the weather is more bi-polar than Monica on Shameless, I have seen a real beating on what it does to my face! I am talking dry, flaky, itchy patches on my skin. Ouch 😦 This morning when I woke up, the dryness was worse than ever so I did my research and found an awesome DIY face mask with common household items anyone can find in their home. I put this on and immediately felt relief, so let me show you what the face mask is exactly!

While doing some Pinterest research, I came across an oatmeal face mask that promises to deliver moisture for even the driest of skin types. The ingredients are as followed:

  1. Start of with 1 Tablespoon of Oat Bran or Oatmeal
  2. Mix in 1 Tablespoon of Yogurt (I used non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt)
  3. Mix in 1 Tablespoon of Honey
  4. Lastly, mix in 1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
  5. After combining all the ingredients, put a smooth layer on your problem areas (Mine just so happens to be the T-zone)
  6. Leave on for 10 minutes and then rinse with warm water and a wash cloth

The reason I love this face mask so much is because the ingredients are so simple and clean. Putting together the face mask was super easy and only took a couple of minutes. Also, the scent is vanilla-y due to the yogurt I used which gives the mask a light but sweet, subtle smell.

After the 10 minutes, I rinsed off my face with warm water and a wash cloth. I was pleased to find that my dry patches were already smaller than before! The flakiness of my skin subdued and the redness decreased as well. After drying my face, I could already feel the moisture restored in my dry areas. I finished the process off by adding a few drops of Argon Oil everywhere on my face and rubbing it in until the oiliness disappears. Argon Oil is something I swear by and use in my everyday routine. First off,  it contains antioxidants, vitamin E, and essential fatty acids which act as a “super food” for your face.  It also serves as an anti-ager and deep moisturizer without making your face over-oily.

Overall, I give this face mask a 10 out of 10 rating! I was very pleased with my results and hope this serves well for all my fellow mates dealing with dry skin themselves! Please comment below if you have found other remedies for dry skin, found this mask suitable for you or if you have any questions! Thanks again for all your support!

See you soon,

-Sky

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

